Writing

Writer vs The Word Count

13438972_298440283830379_7956515020961142809_n

As I write this, there are four days left of Camp NaNoWriMo. I am behind on my goal by 14k. If I were to catch up in these last four days and reach 50k then it would mean doing 3.5k a day. Now why am I telling you this? Because I concede. I am surrendering to the universe. I will not end up winning NaNo this July because I can’t force myself to sit down and write it all out.

And I’m okay with this.

I’ve accepted it. I have come to accept that sometimes you just can’t reach a word count within a certain amount of time. Sometimes it’s simply not possible without burning yourself out.

And I’ve learnt that it’s okay to admit defeat sometimes. I’m never going to give up on my novel and it will be finished this year. But everyone needs breaks. And that is what I definitely need.

This doesn’t mean that I won’t still be writing  – of course I will. It’s something that I have to do otherwise I go a little crazy. But I will be focusing my time on other projects just until I feel I can go back to this work with renewed freshness.

There are plenty of things to do while you let yourself heal and wait for the motivation to come back. Because that’s what I’ve found. With my work, it’s never a lack of passion of inspiration. It’s motivation to just get on with it that I lack. And so here are some links to things to help remind you why you love to write:

H R Warren’s wonderful post of Top 10’s for overcoming writer’s block

My 30 Day Writing Challenge

A Clustering Exercise To Get You Brainstorming

Leave a Reply

