Writing

Interview Series: Whiterosewriting’s

13941150_317633541911053_1129333957_n

This is the first blogger I’ve interviewed and I can happily say she is one of my close friends. Feel free to check out her blog: https://whiterose2016.wordpress.com/

unnamed

Whiterosewriting’s is an aspiring writer with a passion for modern fantasy and romantic fiction. She can be found with her family or with her fabulous fiancé either reading, writing or updating her art journal, probably alongside a coffee. She hopes to raise awareness of mental illness and other unspoken subjects through her works of fiction and poetry collections.

 

Hi Georgia, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Could you please
tell us a little bit about yourself and your background?
I’m a girl often described as having her head in the clouds, because of this it means I have been a storyteller for as long as I can remember. However, from age 15 I have been suffering depression and severe anxiety which I try to raise awareness of in my writings since.

When did you know you wanted to be a writer and blogger?
As described above, a writer has been as long as I can remember. I always wanted to write and when I finally learnt I filled notebooks and notebooks.
Blogger on the other hand is in the last few years. I knew of blogging from stars like Zoella and Tanya, because I don’t have the confidence to vlog because I hate being on film I thought combining my love for writing on a public scale was the best way to go.

What were your ambitions when you started your blog?
In all honesty, there wasn’t in the start. Just experiment and have fun with another outlet.

Have those ambitions changed over the process?
Definitely. I’ve wanted to reach more people, currently debating a youtube channel in the works and currently writing the end of my 10 part short story that has proved popular on every part.

What kind of posts are you writing anything at the moment? Could you
give us a little insight?
As described above, I have a 10 part short story that is soon coming to an end in the next few weeks. I’m going on holiday soon so there will be pictures of both holidays and look out for my upcoming August favourites post in September.

Are there any quotes or motto’s that inspire your writing career or
your life? Would you share it with us?
“Just say yes”-Zoella, basically saying not to let your mental illness or life struggle prevent you from living your life.
And “All the stories are true”-Cassandra Clare, The Mortal Instruments Book #1. I just love this quote because it just makes you think if all the stories we read were true, how cool would that be? Therefore creates this sense that we’re never alone no matter how we feel as long as there’s books around.

Do you also write fiction? If so where do you find inspiration for your novels?
Everywhere. I probably find my inspiration most on my travels and seeing the quirks in everyday life. Otherwise it’ll be Pinterest, Tumblr, Facebook pages. Anything really.

Do you consider yourself more of a plotter or a pantser? Do you
outline thoroughly or see how it plays out?
I’d say I’m a mixture. I find my favourite work comes from when I don’t plan my writing so much and just free write. However, I still do a rough outline where I want the plot to go and do detailed planning of my characters and their arc throughout the story.

How often do you write during a week?
Blog posts are once to twice a week. Writing or planning stories are a little bit everyday where I can.

Do you have a set word count that you try to achieve each session?
Definitely not. I find setting myself strict targets incredibly stressful and I start worrying about that than what’s going on the page.

Do you have to do lots of research for your novels or blog posts?
I research everything before I write.

What is the hardest thing about writing for you?
Probably developing ideas to make a rough plot.

Do you ever get writers block? How do you overcome it?
Always. I use my art journal to keep creativity flowing or look on Pinterest for writing prompts or character ideas.

If you couldn’t be a writer for a living, what other career do you
think you would like to do?
What world would that be! Haha, no I’d either be a bookseller or florist.

What was your inspiration for starting the blog? Why did you want to start one?
Zoella and Tanya Burr, now household names were once bloggers. (I think they still run their blogs alongside YouTube)

What sort of a routine do you have around your writing? Do you make
coffee every time? Or write stream of consciousness before starting a
story?
Probably stream of consciousness and rant on the page for a bit, maybe use a writing prompt from Pinterest to get me started, with a coffee of course.

Do you have any advice to the aspiring writers reading this?
Just read all you can and then write all you can. If you’re struggling with either just keep a creative outlet going anyway; sew, dance, draw anything it’ll keep you going when you feel there’s nothing left to write about.

 

Leave a Reply

