Books

My Summer Reading List

This summer I’m spending my time on getting through my reading list for university in September. There are lots of books on that list for my to get through but for now, I’m going to be focusing on just a few.

  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being – Milan Kundera
  • Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe
  • Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
  • Birds, Beasts and Relatives – Gerald Durrell
  • White Teeth – Zadie Smith
  • The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy

I have to say I’m so excited about these books, they all sound so interesting and different to each other! I’ve just recently finished Brave New World and I thoroughly loved it. I wasn’t expecting to love it, when I first started reading. It had a rather strange beginning and although it was a good story, the ideas expressed within, were bizarre and I could not entirely understand the reasons behind these beliefs. This for me, made me feel like the writing wasn’t doing it’s job – I should be able to understand the reasons behind why a society has been built so different from our own. But as we powered through and the plot moved on, I began to understand, finally coming to even agreeing with this bizarre society in some ways right at the end. It was indeed a thrilling book and I was pleasantly surprised to say how much I enjoyed it.

As I get through these books I’ll keep my readers updated on my opinions and how well I’m enjoying these pieces. I can’t wait to finish them. You’ll be able to keep an eye on how I’m getting on with these books from my Instagram page which you can find here, I post lots of updates about the books I’m reading along with other things. Feel free to comment on my posts and let me know if you guys have read them too! I’d love to know what you all think!

What books do you have on your reading list this summer? Which one are you most excited about? Let us know in the comments below! 

 

Leave a Reply

